The Children's Room Blog

Meet our newest Children’s Librarian, Yvonne!

Posted on: February 7, 2013

In December, Yvonne Coleman joined the staff of Fox Library as the Friday Children’s Librarian.  We are thrilled to have her here with us.  Here’s a little introduction that she wrote.

Let me introduce myself.  Yvonne Coleman.  I am thrilled to be a new member of the Fox “family.”  (Does that make me a cub?  No, my cub days are behind me.)  I was Head of Children’s Services in Winchester for several years, as well as a teacher of children’s literature and book reviewer.  I am so happy to be working directly with children and book again.

When not at the Fox (on Fridays), I spend lots of time with my five grandchildren (and my three children).  I look forward to sharing my favorite book, The Wind in the Willows, with each of them.  I would describe myself as a tree-hugger, elephant lover, reader of dystopian science fiction, and an avid fan of pygmy music.  I believe in fairies and the power of Animal Planet to change the world.  I am newly into cooking shows (especially Chopped), but I don’t really cook.

In fact, I have decided that I am an “appreciator” of many things.  I used to worry that I should settle down with a good hobby or two.  I have come to the realization that some do and some are content to gaze admiringly at what they do.  Libraries are a good fit for those of my ilk– the endlessly curious.

You can join Yvonne every Friday morning at 10:00 a.m. at the Fox Library for her Fun at the Fox program, geared to children ages two and up.  Welcome, Yvonne!

Leave a Reply

